Home HOME Sheriff Mulade P-U Cup 2019 : 200 Ijaw/Itsekiri youths set for the...

Sheriff Mulade P-U Cup 2019 : 200 Ijaw/Itsekiri youths set for the pitch

CEPEJ National coordinator, Comrade Sheriff Mulade addressing journalists the need for peaceful general election

*As Nwaomucha, Areyenka, Ojogun, Opudu, others head Committees

Clarkson Ogo, Sports Editor


The Ijaw/Itsekiri Peace and Unity Cup Tournament also known as Comrade Mulade Sheriff Peace and Unity Cup has engaged and empowered over 1, 200 youths across Ijaw and Itsekiri communities from the inception of the competition in 2017 till date.


The organiser of the football tournament, Comrade Sheriff Mulade disclosed this during the inauguration of the Local Organizing Committee, LOC, for the second edition of the football competition at CEPEJ headquarters at Ugolo Okpe near Osubi Airport, Warri.


Comrade Mulade, National Coordinator of Center for Peace and Environmental Justice, CEPEJ, said the event is part of efforts to foster peace and unity among the people of Warri South-West, as well as

help participants to be more congruous in doing things and explore new frontiers of life.


He expressed joy about the success stories of the competition among Ijaw and Itsekiri ethnic groups of Warri South West LGA, noting that the tournament was initiated to promote peaceful coexistence and build bridges of unity among the diverse ethnic nationalities, as well as discover football talents at the grassroot level in Warri Area and other parts of Delta State.


Comrade Sheriff Mulade, a peace, human rights and environment activist said the 2019 biennial football event would commence from November 16 to November 30, 2019 in two centres, Ugborodo (Itsekiri) and Benikrukru (Ijaw).


The LOC which will coordinate and run the football tournament, had Mr. Kenneth Nwaomucha as chairman, Barr Val Ada Arenyeka, vice chairman, and Chief Jeffrey Ojogun, secretary.


The Security sub committee of the LOC has Chief Boro Opudu as chairman and Hon. Emiko Odin Etuwewe as secretary. Its Contact and Engagement sub Committee is chaired by Michael Ikeogwu, while Hon Emma Adun is secretary.


The Technical sub committee has Coach Esu Godfrey as chairman and Lucky Sunday as secretary, the Transport and Logistics sub committee is chaired by Aboyewa Ikpotor, while Present Ipopo is secretary.


The Welfare sub  Committee’s chairman is Hon Bethus Ayetan, its secretary is Miss Omotsone Loveth, with Happiness Afuegbe, Omoboye Abosode and Seiyefa Aganbi as members.


The chairman of the Media and Publicity sub committee is Comrade Azuka Chiemaka with Alloyouis Okereke as secretary.


The Ugborodo centre will be coordinated by Hon. Paul Kirifede, Akanbe Augustine is the centre’s deputy coordinator, while Wisdom Pori is the secretary.


The centre at Benkrukru is to be coordinated by Wilson Eje, his deputy is Bright Tortor, and Charles Ogbodowa is secretary.


Shortly after their inauguration, Comrade Mulade charged the LOC and the various sub committees to put in their best for a successful hosting of the football fiesta initiated by the Center For Peace and Environmental Justice,  CEPEJ.




Previous articleOstarsund FK of Sweden signs four years contract deal with Sunsel Kadiri Attah
Next articleWhy Nigeria palm produce suffer patronage at Int’l market – NEPC


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here