Home HOME Inaugural sitting: Bayelsa assembly sets up 31 standing committees

Inaugural sitting: Bayelsa assembly sets up 31 standing committees

Hon. Tonye Emmanuel Isenah


Edighomor Victor, Yenagoa


The Bayelsa State House of Assembly yesterday held its inaugural sitting under the leadership of the Speaker, Hon. Tonye Emmanuel Isenah with the setting up of thirty-one standing committees for the 6th Assembly.


The standing committees, as announced by the Speaker comprises of members from both the PDP and the APC,while the PDP got twenty-seven chairmanship positions the APC got four ,though the names were announced after due consultations, the standing committee as constituted is open to reshufflement.


He also advised the members of the House to set aside emotions and work hard to surpass the record of the fifth Assembly, “let us drop emotions and as colleagues we should unite and deliver on the mandate given to us by the people.”


“I started as a minority in 2011, I never knew I would be speaker. I decided to keep calm and learn the ropes. In the committee, the 2nd and 3rd term members will feature because of experience.”


Meanwhile, a commissioner nominee into the Bayelsa State Independent Electoral Committee (BSIEC), Barr. Perediegha Ajoko MacPherson was screened by members of the state Assembly.


The nominee, who was presented to the House by the Executive Governor, Hon. Henry Seriake Dickson, was cleared based on the exigencies of the August 10 date of the Local Government elections.




Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here