Home CRIME Delta: Isoko nation condemns gruesome killing of 9 persons in Oleh

Delta: Isoko nation condemns gruesome killing of 9 persons in Oleh

File photo: Ex-militants of Niger Delta
By Kelvin Ohoror
Leaders of Isoko ethnic nationality has described the recent killing of nine indigenes of Oleh community as barbaric and alien to the culture of the Isoko people, and have vowed to work closely with the security agencies towards unravelling the identities of the killers.
The Isoko position was conveyed through Chief Dennis Etaluku, the clan Otota of Igbide Kingdom, Chief Ovuozourie Macaulay, the Okiroro of Isoko nation, Bashorun Askia Ogieh, the Udu of Isoko nation, and Chief Iduh Amadhe, President General of Isoko Development Union, IDU in a delegation led by the Chairman of Isoko South Local Government, Hon. Itiako Ikpokpo, Ksm to the Odiologbo of Oleh Kingdom, HRM, Anthony William Ovrawha I, to commiserate with him and the entire Kingdom over the unfortunate incident.
The delegation applauded the peaceful disposition of the Oleh people in the face of the  mindless provocation. They appealed to the community to continue to tow the path of peace, assuring them of the determination of the Delta and Isoko South Governments to get to the root of the matter and bring the perpetrators to book.
The clan Otota of Oleh, Chief Benjamin Onojerame, President General of Oleh community, Chief Believe Alakri and Sir Mattias Eto, who spoke on behalf of the community explained that the refusal of the community to embark on retaliatory attacks was borne of the strategic position of Oleh as the headquarter of the Isoko nation with persons from all Isoko communities and beyond residing in the community. They however emphasised the need to bring the murderers to book so as to assuage the pains of the families of the victims and Oleh people in general.
The Isoko delegation has the Delta State Commissioner for Lands, Hon. Churchill Amagada, Traditional Rulers of Emede, Igbide, Uzere, Oyede, Umeh, Irri, the Bishop of the Oleh Diocese of the Anglican Communion, Rt. Revd John Aruakpo, Bishop Ben Eghaire, the President Generals of Isoko Communites, Youth Leader, PDP Delta State, Hon. Bino Owhede, Chairman of the PDP, Isoko South, Chief Godspower Obaro,  and other prominent Isoko  leaders and government officials.
Member representing Isoko South Constituency I, Hon. Kenneth Ogba, Dr. Karo Ilolo, Hon. Lucky Okperi, Chief Anthony Okoro, and other prominent leaders and chiefs of Oleh kingdom received the Isoko delegation.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here